L.A. Confidential

July 3, 2011

I don’t know how I hadn’t seen this movie until now, and I can’t fully believe that Leslie had completely forgotten how the second half of the movie went, but we both really enjoyed watching it last night. I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone (lots or cursing, killing, and some nudity), but it was really good. I truly enjoyed the screenplay, which was at times…pure Hollywood gold.

Bud- “The Nite Owl case made you. Do you want to tear all that down?”
Ed- “With a wrecking ball… You want to help me swing it?”

Many of the quotes I could share are not suitable for all audiences, but there’s one scene with “Lana Turner” that you could watch 5 times in a row and it would be great every time. I agree with Leslie when she realized that this is the kind of movie you’re glad you’re watching at home, alternately pausing to laugh really hard at the funny bits and pacing around the room when things get tense. I really wish there were more movies like this one, maybe not so similar in content, but really well told stories that push and pull you along until the very end. As an aside, I love movies that have a resolution of the story. I despise movies that fail to fulfill themselves by the very definition of a story, with a beginning, middle, and end (I’m looking at you too Lost). It’s so satisfying to watch things all come together. Ok, enough about that.

Let me know if there are others like this that have surprised and delighted you as the very best of what movies should be.

Leave a Reply

