Waiting game

May 10, 2011

I’m waiting to hear back about a job offer from a production company in Kansas City. It’s great work, and something I want to be doing. But honestly it’s hard for me to believe that I’ll get the job because it means believing that God gives us good gifts for no other reason than He wants to. And my heart has a hard time believing that. Yet there I was, driving my rental car back to the airport and fighting through the feeling that I wasn’t going to get the job because I could have said _____ better in the interview. Praise be to God that we don’t get things from Him based on our behavior and actions. The gospel of Jesus in that moment said to me, “if you get bad things because you performed poorly, then you also are the one who gets the credit for your performance when things go your way. But you don’t have that kind of power.” The good part of the good news is that Jesus does have that kind of power, and He freely gives it to us. So I wait, not on word from the company (though I haven’t heard yet), but primarily I wait on the Lord. He is the one who can sustain me both in much and in less. Without Him, I don’t think my attitude would change even if I got this job. I would still find something to be nervous about, or be afraid of, and be working in my own power to prevent. So here’s my hope and my comfort-

1 Peter 1.6 “in this(God’s salvation of us) you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trails, so that the tested genuineness of your faith may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ.

That the same salvation that is by God’s grace alone that got me here, will keep me here and give me reason to rejoice even in the midst of trials, no matter what they look like. Let’s keep rejoicing in the God of our deliverance. I know I’ve got to.

One Response to “Waiting game”

  1. djhofmann said

    word on the street is that you got this job, is this correct? when do you move?

Leave a Reply

