growing up

May 27, 2010

Leslie turns 25 on saturday.  I’ll be 27 this summer, hopefully the same day our little baby janis arrives.

He’ll be 25 one day.  That is so strange to me.  Today he’s content to just kick and kick, but one day he won’t be content with being in our home much less inside of leslie’s belly.

I’m so thankful that the Lord gives us just enough grace to make it through today, freeing us from worrying about tomorrow.  I don’t know how I’m going to handle having a child, but I do know that the Lord will be with us.  I know because He said so, and because He was with us today. We’ll make it through tomorrow whenever it gets here.

I often don’t believe this simple truth about the Lord being with us, being with me.  I fight it and believe all the hype about being a grown up and having it all together.  I don’t have any profound ideas about this and truths to share, but the one thing I do know… is it’s not worth trying to be a grown up on your own. I’m 26 and don’t have life figured out.

Maybe I’m finally old enough to understand that I’ll never have it all together, and maybe that’s the point.  I just hope that I can teach that to my son.  Along with how to sail a boat. I would like to have a sailing buddy. We can just enjoy the life that God has given us and not worry about what we “should” be doing.

Where did all this come from you ask? Ecclesiastes.  It’ll eat your lunch. It ate mine last week.

2 Responses to “growing up”

  1. Ben Warren said

    I’m glad you are seeing this my friend! I feel like that’s one of the main things that God is drilling in my heart while I’m here. YOU CAN’T DO THIS! ….. so trust Me. I can.
    and out of love, love, and love, the greatest of these is love.

    ben

  2. Vicky said

    Jesse, you made us both cry.We’re so honored and thankful to have you as a son-in-law. by the way, Ecclesiastes is my favorite book.

Leave a Reply

